The judges for The Grocer Gold Awards 2004, sponsored by MEI, have now been confirmed.

Retailers on the panels include Colin Smith, chairman of Poundland; Sue West, retail operations director of Selfridges; Steve Melton, Argos supply chain director; and Cliff Burrows, MD of Starbucks UK.

Our expert judges also include Rita Clifton, chairwoman of Interbrand; David Jago, Mintel’s director of GNPD Consulting Servies; Eleni Nichols, area vice president of ACNielsen; Hugh Burkitt, chief executive of the marketing society; Maureen Johnson, CEO of The Store; Mike Dennis, of CAI Chevereux; and Richard Hull of Cap Gemini Ernst & Young.
They will make up the three panels that will judge the awards for best business initiative, best consumer initiative and best own label range development.

We have also lined up a top panel to judge the independent retail chain of the year comprising: Duncan Bannatyne, founder of Bannatyne Leisure; Alison Richards, MD of The Pier ; and David Simons, chairman of Littlewoods.

There is still time to enter the awards. But hurry! Entries must be received by March 19. Call Nicola Smith on 01293 610427 for full details.