Mars is planning to add 'suitable for vegetarians' labels on its Mars, Snickers, Galaxy and Maltesers chocolates.

The confectionery giant came under fire earlier this year after The Grocer revealed the company had switched to animal rennet for some of its most popular chocolate bars, which meant they were no longer suitable for vegetarians.

Mars has since reverted back to vegetarian ingredients and yesterday revealed its bars would carry the 'suitable for vegetarians' phrase based on Food Standards Agency labelling guidance, although plans to get Vegetarian Society accreditation have been dropped.