Neil Parish re-elected Efra Committee chairman

  • Print
  • Share
  • Comment
  • Save

Neil Parish

MPs have re-elected Neil Parish as chairman of the Commons Environment, Food and Rural Affairs Committee.

The Conservative MP for Tiverton and Honiton, who is a former dairy farmer, saw off challenges by MPs Zac Goldsmith and Bill Wiggin to be elected to a second term as Efra chair with 324 votes.

Parish said he intended to continue holding the government to account. “No single department is affected by Brexit more than Defra. As a former MEP, I know Brussels and how negotiations are conducted,” he added. “I’m keen to use this experience to scrutinise the government’s stance on agriculture, tariffs, fisheries and labour during Brexit negotiations.”

Have your say

Sign up to a Free 30 day Gold Membership Trial

  • Claim your free trial >>
  • You will be able to:

    - Comment on your industry
    - Read the latest category information
    - Find out more on consumer behaviours to technological advances

    You must sign in to make a comment

    • Print
    • Share
    • Comment
    • Save



    CLICK HERE to search for the products, services and companies you need in the definitive guide to the UK food and drink industry.

    Need more than 5 subscriptions? Make your life easier with a Corporate Account. Find out more.



    Yes!I want to read more     CLAIM FREE TRIAL NOW
    Sign up to a 30 day free trial