Newly-appointed Prime Minister Gordon Brown has named Hilary Benn as the new Secretary of State for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs.

Benn replaces David Miliband who moves to the role of Foreign Secretary.

Alan Johnson replaces Patricia Hewitt as Health Secretary while Ed Balls has been appointed to the new position of Secretary of State for Children, Schools and Families.

James Purnell has been named Secretary of State for Culture, Media and Sport, replacing Tessa Jowell who becomes minister for the Olympics and will attend Cabinet when needed.