Defra, now headed by Hilary Benn after Gordon Brown's reshuffle, has given its new ministers their portfolios.

Food, farming and animal health minister Lord Rooker is the only familiar face left; Phil Woolas has been made minister for environment; Joan Ruddock is a junior minister covering climate change, waste, recycling and biodiversity; and Jonathan Shaw takes on fisheries, rural affairs, landscape and local environment. Benn has said he hopes farmers respect his vegetarianism.