The search is on for the person the readers of this magazine believe has made the biggest contribution to the grocery industry in the past year.
Now in its seventh year, The Grocer Cup For Outstanding Business Achievement is firmly established as one of the top accolades in the industry.
Our shortlist this year comprises: Neil Davidson, chief executive of Arla Foods UK; Tony DeNunzio, president and CEO, Asda; Steven Esom, MD, Waitrose; Martin Glenn, president, PepsiCo UK; Tim How, chief executive, Majestic Wine Warehouses; Sir Terry Leahy, chief executive, Tesco; Peter Marks, chief executive, United Co-op; Sir Francis Mackay, chairman, Compass Group; and Eoin McGettigan, chairman, Musgrave UK.
Voting could not be simpler. You can either go to or you can call 01293 846535 to register your vote for the person you think has been our industry’s most impressive business leader in the past 12 months. But hurry - votes must be cast before September 15.
The Grocer Cup is presented as part of the IGD’s Food Industry Awards, which take place at the Royal Lancaster Hotel in London on October 19.
Last year’s winner of The Grocer Cup was Sir Ken Morrison. The Grocer’s editor Julian Hunt and Luc Vandevelde, then chairman of M& S and the 2003 winner, presented him with his award.
On the night, Vandevelde praised Sir Ken for being a no-nonsense retailer with a track record of great leadership over three decades.