The Vegetarian Society is calling for a legal definition of the word vegetarian. It claims to have invented the word, but says there is still confusion over its meaning and usage. "The Food Standards Agency says we should have more labelling on packs, on organic and on restaurant menus, yet at the same time there is no legal definition for vegetarian," says spokeswoman Samantha Calvert. "How can a product be a vegetarian platter when it contains prawns?" The Vegetarian Society strictly monitors its trademark symbol which can be seen on more than 2,000 products in the UK and abroad. Meat, poultry, game, fish, by-products such as gelatine, rennet and animal fats are all forbidden as far as the society is concerned. Eggs must be free range. Last summer it added GM free to its list and axed 187 products from using the symbol because the manufacturers couldn't guarantee they were GM free. - National Vegetarian Week 2001 runs from June 25 to July 1. {{FOCUS SPECIALS }}