The search is on for the person that The Grocer’s readers believe has made the biggest contribution to the grocery industry in the past year.

A shortlist has been drawn up based on nominations from across the industry. But readers will decide who should receive The Grocer Cup for Outstanding Business Achievement.

Now in its sixth year, The Grocer Cup is firmly established as one of the top accolades in the industry.

Last year’s winner was Marks and Spencer chairman Luc Vandevelde. He said: “Receiving an award is always exciting but when you know it has been decided by your peers it really takes a very special meaning.”

The list comprises Sir Don Curry; Asda’s Tony DeNunzio; Iain Ferguson of Tate & Lyle; Malcolm Hepworth, the Co-operative Group’s retail chief; Deirdre Hutton, who chairs the Food Chain Centre steering group; Justin King of M&S; Sir Terry Leahy and David Reid, both from Tesco; Sir Ken Morrison; and Sir Gulam Noon.

To vote readers should either call 01293 846535 or go to

But hurry! To ensure you vote counts it must be registered by September 17.