Membership of the European Union for the five east European states and Cyprus, the so called Luxembourg Group', is likely to be delayed for at least two years beyond the original target date of January 1 2003. This is revealed in a confidential memo circulating within the European Commission. The Commission is now quite clearly working on accession of the Central and Eastern European countries (CEECs) from 2005 onwards. {{PROVISIONS }}