What was your first ever job? I worked on Saturdays in the local newsagent when I was 15. I took care of the newspapers, lots of sweets, crisps and juice.

Give us a quick rundown on your career. I joined the Kimberly-Clark graduate consumer marketing programme in 2001 straight from the University of Strathclyde and was assigned to Madrid for 18 months. When I moved back to the UK I quickly progressed from assistant brand manager to brand manager on the Andrex team and in 2007 I became marketing manager for Andrex.

How did you get to where you are today? Always stretching myself in my roles and in my approach to projects and ideas.

What part has luck played in your career? None really. I believe in destiny not luck.

What is the best decision you have made in your career? Starting my career in Spain at 21 because it was the most challenging thing I've ever done.

And the worst? Too many drinks at one promotional awards party.

Who do you most admire in the grocery industry? James Averdieck - founder of Gü -because of his passion and drive to make his product a success.

If you could start your career again, what would you do differently? I'd work across different functions for longer in my early career.

What is the most important tip you've ever been given? Brands take years to build, so they should not be managed over quarters.

What is the most rewarding part of your job? Working with the real Andrex puppy because he is just the cutest.

And the least rewarding? Admin, approving budgets, spends and expenses.

If you didn't work in grocery, where else would you like to work? Maybe high end fashion. Gucci would be really nice.

What do you like doing when you are not working? Watching trash TV, going out for nice meals with my partner/friends.

How many hours do you work every week? Too many. Probably 45-50 hours

Do you manage work/life balance? I am very much a work hard, play hard person so I excess a little in both areas to be honest.

Where do you hope to be in five years time? Ideally retired, very rich and living by the beach.