Readers of this magazine have voted Sir Peter Davis, chief executive of Sainsbury, this year's winner of The Grocer Cup for Outstanding Business Achievement. A delighted Sir Peter picked up his trophy at the IGD Food Industry Awards ­ and then raised it in the air in triumph. He said: "The award is recognition of the work we have done to turn the business around and without everyone's hard work, dedication and sheer determination to see Sainsbury's succeed none of what we have achieved would have been possible." Clive Beddall, editor of The Grocer, said: "There was an overwhelming vote from readers who recognise Sir Peter's charisma and achievement." Readers were asked to choose the individual they felt had inspired exceptional results in the preceding year and who they felt had made the biggest contribution to the grocery industry. Sainsbury is getting back on track thanks to the work undertaken by Sir Peter in reshaping the business to make it "special again" for customers and colleagues. Improved relations with suppliers are also at the heart of Sir Peter's strategy ­ and he is playing a key role in the government's Commission on the Future of Farming and Food. Sir Peter is also a major supporter of the Business in the Community initiative. The award was presented to Sir Peter by last year's winner ­ Tony Pearce, sales director of Birds Eye Wall's. Macsween of Edinburgh was the first winner of a new award given to a company that has clearly benefited from the IGD's Small Food Producers Support Initiative. The award is named in honour of the former Safeway chairman Sir Alistair Grant who died earlier this year. Asda won the John Sainsbury 1990 award for staff training and development; James King of Pedigree Masterfoods came out top in the Tate & Lyle young managers' business challenge; Nestlé was awarded the President's Cup; Superquinn won the Unilever Award; the Ian MacLaurin Award for Supply Chain Excellence went to Brake Brothers; Eatwell won the Tetra Pak packaging design award; and the Nestlé social commitment award was presented to Coca-Cola Bottlers (Ulster). {{NEWS }}