Ronny Gottschlich Lidl

Ronny Gottschlich, managing director of Lidl, with his award

Lidl took home the Grocer of the Year trophy at the Grocer Gold awards last night (10 June), marking its first ever triumph in the category.

The discounter’s surprise win was vindication for a huge year, as they gained further ground on the big players in the market without slowing the pace of their growth. 

Other winners on a big night at the Guildhall in London included BrewDog, the rapidly expanding craft brewer, which won SME Drinks Brand of the Year, and entrepreneur of the year for co-founder James Watt.

 Store Manager of the Year
 Winner: Richard Perry  Sainsbury’s Heyford Hill, Oxford
  Branded Supplier of the Year 
  Winner: Procter & Gamble  
 Own Label Supplier of the Year
  Winner: Bakkavor  
 Business Initiative of the Year
  Winner: Bestway  
 Consumer Initiative of the Year
  Winner: United Biscuits  
 Green Initiative of the Year
  Winner: Bernard Matthews  
 Employer of the Year
  Winner:  Mars Food  
Exporter of the Year
  Winner:  Joe & Seph’s  
 Entrepreneur of the Year
  Winner: James Watt  BrewDog
 Logistics Supplier of the Year
  Winner: Palletforce  
 Technology Supplier of the Year
 Winner: Bestway  
 Online Supermarket of the Year
  Winner: Ocado  
  Own-Label Range of the Year
  Winner: Make Up Gallery  Poundland
  SME Brand of the Year
  Winner: Trewithen Dairy  Trewithen Dairy
 Brand of the Year
  Winner: Kinder Kids  Ferrero UK & Ireland
 SME Drinks Brand of the Year
  Winner: BrewDog  BrewDog
 Drinks Brand of the Year
  Winner: Pepsi  Britvic Soft Drinks
 Drinks Retailer of the Year
  Winner: Oddbins  
 Specialist Online Retailer of the Year
  Winner: HelloFresh  
 Independent Retail Chain of the Year
  Winner: Booths  
 Symbol Retailer of the Year
 Winner: Spar UK  
 Wholesaler of the Year
  Winner: Booker Group  
 Grocer 33 Availability
 Winner: Sainsbury’s  
 Grocer 33 Price
 Winner: Asda  
 Grocer 33 Service
 Winner: Sainsbury’s  
 Britain’s Favourite Supermarket
 Winner: Tesco  
The Grocer of the Year   
Winner: Lidl