Post Office signage

Source: Post Office

Postmasters will need to have a minimum three years’ experience to apply

The Post Office will be appointing two serving postmasters to sit on the board as non-executive directors for the first time.

The decision was made to ensure the experience and interests of 8,000 postmasters are directly reflected in the choices of the main board, it said.

It annouced in August last year that one postmaster would be appointed but the board and shareholders decided to increase it to two to further strengthen the non-execs’ input on all issues raised.

An independent committee consisting of leading industry figures has been appointed to warrant a transparent selection process.

The committee is made up of ACS CEO James Lowman, Co-op Group CFO Shirine Khoury-Haq and Institute of Directors council member Jean Church.

The voting process will be overseen by Civica Elections services (formerly Electoral Reform Services), and Green Park, specialists in board appointments, who will advise on best practice across the process.

The applications opened today (4 January) for a four-week period with the new non-executives due to start in April this year.

Postmasters will need to have a minimum three years’ experience to apply and will also need to demonstrate evidence of strong customer service and operational conformance.

“Having two serving postmasters on our board sends the clearest signal yet of our determination to ensure postmasters really are at the heart of our business, and this election is another vital milestone in resetting our relationship with postmasters,” said Post Office CEO Nick Read.

“The transparent and independent selection process, led by external industry experts, will ensure the board is able to benefit from the counsel and input of the most suitable candidates.

“To sit on the board of any company carries great responsibility, a responsibility I know our postmasters will be well placed to fulfil. I have been encouraged by the interest from postmasters in applying and look forward to working with our two new non-executive directors in March.”