The shortlists for The Grocer Gold Awards 2005 have been announced.
Upmarket frozen food chain Cook, the company-owned stores division of Spar wholesaler CJ Lang and northern chain Proudfoot have been shortlisted for best independent retail chain.
In the category for best wholesaler, Bestway, Brakes, Blueheath and Hancocks have made it on to the shortlist for this new award.
There was a record number of entries for best own-label range development, with the judges shortlisting Aldi cured meats, Landmark Vintners, M&S Cook, Sainsbury Basics and Waitrose Entertaining.
Meanwhile, Cadbury Snaps, Tetley Speciality Teas, Flora Pro-activ yoghurt drink, Comfort Pearls and Del Monte Winter Warmer are the innovations shortlisted for best NPD by a branded supplier.
In the category for best business initiative, our judges
shortlisted Asda/Ramesys, Musgrave Budgens-Londis, Tates and Thresher. Sainsbury, Waitrose and Tesco all made it on to the shortlist for the award for best consumer initiative.
These shortlists were drawn up by panels of experts from across the fmcg and retail worlds led by Rita Clifton, chair of Interbrand, Roger Peddar, chairman of C&J Clarke, P&G logistics director Chris Poole, and John Ballington of Unilever UK Home & Personal Care. Last week we revealed the companies on the shortlist for best branded supplier. And earlier this month we unveiled the companies on the shortlist for best own-label supplier.
The winners of all these awards will be announced at the Grocer Gold Awards business dinner at London’s Dorchester Hotel on June 15.
On the night, we will also be revealing the winners of a number of other prestigious awards. There will be The Grocer 33 awards for the retailers who are best when it comes to price, service and availability; a new award for best online retailer; an award for Britain’s favourite supermarket, in association with ACNielsen; and an award for the retailer judged to be The Grocer of the Year.
The awards are sponsored by Geac, Headcount, KPMG and Lawson Software.
For more information on the awards, please contact Emma Wiles on 01293 619282.