CA20_digital_winner promos_Main

The online event will take place from 5pm this evening, hosted by TV personality Konnie Huq

The Convenience Awards 2020 takes place tonight (29 September) and will recognise the brightest and the best of the industry.

Taking place online and hosted by TV personality Konnie Huq, the awards will highlight the very best businesses in the convenience retail industry.

This is the first time the awards are being held digitally, allowing viewers to watch from the comfort of their own home or store, and on demand. The awards are free to view and open to all.

There’s still time to register for The Convenience Awards 2020. To find out who has won the top accolade in the convenience industry, log on here.

William Reed MD – retail & manufacturing Lorraine Hendle and Lumina Intelligence MD Jill Livesey explained the changes to the awards and how you can watch.

“Of course, we would love to be celebrating the very best from the convenience community in person. However, with that no longer possible, we have created a digital solution that will create the reach and exposure that our industry deserves and it will continue to be the biggest event in the calendar this year. Plus, you’ll be able to enjoy it wherever you choose to.”

As well as the self-entry store awards, the event will also award the Lumina Intelligence research-based accolades including the coveted The Shoppers’ Favourite Symbol Group.

There are also networking hubs offering live chat with our sponsors, fantastic competitions, or exclusive downloadable content.

The Convenience Awards are kindly sponsored by Aperol, Aqua Carpatica, BAT, Bestway Wholesale, Booker, Boost, CCEP, CPL Learning, General Mills, Heineken, Kind, KP Snacks, Nescafe, Nisa, PayPoint, Pladis, Post Office, Premier Foods, Spar, Suntory Beverage & Food GB&I.


The finalists for The Convenience Awards are:

Best Independent Store

Budgens Three Mile Cross, Reading

Centra Holywood, Belfast

Spar Y Maes, Pwllheli


Best Large Convenience Store

Budgens Arbury, Cambridge

Nisa Marsh Farm, Luton

Spar Titanic, Belfast


Best Multiple Managed Convenience Store

Centra Carrickfergus, Co Antrim

Heart of England Co-operative, Southam

Spar Laceby Lodge, Grimsby

Spar Roe Lane, Southport


Best New Store

Filco Bryntirion, Bridgend

Nisa Millennium View, Coventry

Scotmid Drumnadrochit, Inverness

Welcome Southwater, West Sussex


Best Small Convenience Store

Costcutter Dringhouses, York

Premier Linktown Local, Kirkcaldy

The Snooty Fox Nisa, Shalford

Wilkinson Spar, Coleraine


Best Training Initiative

Empire Wines and Spirits, Southport

Go Local – Belle Vue, Middlesbrough

Scotmid Co-operative, Edinburgh


Community Retailer of the Year

Hockmeyer Motors Spar, Sleaford

Premier Eldred Drive, Orpington, Kent

Premier Linktown Local, Kirkcaldy


Excellence in Sustainability

Scotmid Co-operative, Edinburgh

Thornton’s Budgens, London

Vic’s Londis, Seaview, Hampshire


Excellence in Technology

Smyth’s Eurospar, Ballymoney

Spar Loughbrickland, Co. Down

Spar Titanic, Belfast


Food To Go Retailer of the Year

David’s Kitchen, Kirkcaldy

Scotmid Thornhill, Elgin

Spar Laceby Lodge, Grimsby

Spar Titanic, Belfast


Retailers’ Retailer of the Year

Faraz Iqbal – Linktown Local, Kirkcaldy

Navin Soni – Thrifty’s Fingerpost, St Helen’s

Phil Dickson – Empire Wines and Spirits, Southport


Sales Assistant of the Year

Courtney Spirling – Spar Maxol Tates Avenue, Belfast

Emily Strong – Spar Clements, Weymouth

Jo Bates – Southern Co-op, Lenham